BF Awards 2006: Nominees

Headline - Press release

Share this headline

  • Button Delicious
  • Bttn Digg
  • Bttn Facebook
  • Bttn Ff
  • Bttn Myspace
  • Bttn Stumble
  • Bttn Twitter
  • Bttn Reddit

Broken Frontier presents the nominees for the third annual Broken Frontier Awards, compiled by the entire BF staff and honoring the cream of the crop in the comics industry during 2006. The award winners will be announced on Thursday, December 28.

The BF awards are split up into two main categories: the Creator Awards, honoring the top creators, and the Paper Screen Gems, the awards for the best projects released over the course of the year. Without further ado, here are the nominations:

Creator Awards

Writer (mainstream)
- Brian K. Vaughan (Ex Machina, Pride of Baghdad, Runaways, Y: The Last Man)
- Ed Brubaker (Captain America, Criminal, Daredevil, Uncanny X-Men)
- Warren Ellis (Nextwave)
- The Fab Four: Geoff Johns, Grant Morrison, Greg Rucka, Mark Waid (52)

Writer (independent)
- Alan Moore (Lost Girls)
- Brian Wood (Local, Supermarket, The Tourist GN)
- Peter David (Fallen Angel)
- Terry Moore (Strangers in Paradise)

Artist (mainstream)
- John Cassaday (Astonishing X-Men, Planetary)
- Mark Bagley (Ultimate Spider-Man)
- Steve McNiven (Civil War)
- Tony Harris (Ex Machina)

Artist (independent)
- David Petersen (Mouse Guard)
- Gabriel Bá (Cassanova)
- JK WoodWard (Fallen Angel)
- Melinda Gebbie (Lost Girls)

- Danny Miki (Eternals, Moon Knight, Uncanny X-Men)
- Dexter Vines (Civil War)
- Matt Ryan (Ultimate Fantastic Four, Ultimate Power)
- Sandra Hope (Gen 13, Justice League of America)

- Dave Stewart (Action Comics, Batman, Conan, Superman)
- Jose Villarubia (Batman: Year One Hundred, Civil War: Front Line, X-Factor)
- Justin Ponsor (Ultimate Extinction, Ultimate Fantastic Four, Ultimate Power)
- Morry Hollowell (Civil War)

- Chris Eliopoulos (Astonishing X-Men, Civil War, Nextwave, Savage Dragon)
- Corey Petit (Daredevil, X-Factor, X-Men, Ultimate Spider-Man)
- Jared K. Fletcher (52, Detective Comics, DMZ, Ex Machina)
- Rob Leigh (52, Flash, Jonah Hex, Justice League of America)

Best New Talent
- David Petersen (Mouse Guard)
- Joelle Jones (12 Reasons Why I Love Her)
- Kieron Gillen (Phonogram)
- Matt Fraction (Casanova)

Paper Screen Gems

- Flight 3 (Ballantine)
- Franklin Richards: Son of a Genius (Marvel)
- Runaways (Marvel)
- Usagi Yojimbo (Dark Horse)

- Nextwave (Marvel)
- The Goon (Dark Horse)
- The Last Christmas (Image)
- True Story Swear to God (Image)

- Conan (Dark Horse)
- Fables (DC/Vertigo)
- Mouse Guard (Archaia)
- Wasteland (Oni)

- Marvel Zombies (Marvel)
- Spawn (Image)
- Tag (Boom!)
- Walking Dead (Image)

- Fables (DC/Vertigo)
- Lost Girls (Top Shelf)
- Punisher (Marvel)
- The Boys (DC/Wildstorm)

- Checkmate (DC)
- Criminal (Marvel/Icon)
- Desolation Jones (DC/Wildstorm)
- Ex Machina (DC/Wildstorm)

Science Fiction
- Annihilation (Marvel)
- Godland (Image)
- Green Lantern Corps (DC)
- Star Wars: Legacy (Dark Horse)

- 52 (DC)
- Astonishing X-Men (Marvel)
- Nextwave (Marvel)
- X-Factor (Marvel)

Limited Series
- Civil War (Marvel)
- Local (Oni)
- Justice (DC)
- Mouse Guard (Archaia)

Best Debut
- Casanova (Image)
- Moon Knight (Marvel)
- Mouse Guard (Archaia)
- Nextwave (Marvel)

Best Original Graphic Novel
- 12 Reasons Why I Love Her (Oni)
- American Born Chinese (First Second)
- Lost Girls (Top Shelf)
- Pride of Baghdad (DC/Vertigo)

Related content

Related Headlines

Related Lowdowns


There are no comments yet.

In order to post a comment you have to be logged in. Don't have a profile yet? Register now!

Latest headlines


Latest comments
Comics Discussion
Broken Frontier on Facebook