Broken Frontier Awards 2010: The Winners

Headline - Press release

Share this headline

  • Button Delicious
  • Bttn Digg
  • Bttn Facebook
  • Bttn Ff
  • Bttn Myspace
  • Bttn Stumble
  • Bttn Twitter
  • Bttn Reddit

Broken Frontier proudly unveils the winners of its seventh annual Broken Frontier Awards. During the closing months of 2010, the BF staff went through piles of comics and graphic novels and carefully selected five nominees for each of its nine award categories, and we now announce who came out on top!

The ballot was unveiled in early December, after which BF turned to the comics community to help determine the award winners: the total amount of votes received from fans, creators and industry professionals accounted for 50% of the final tally, while the votes of the BF staff accounted for the remaining half.

Spotlight articles on each of the winners can be found in The Frontiersman #17, available for free on iTunes, Graphicly, and WOWIO.

Best Writer – Mainstream: Grant Morrison (Batman and Robin, Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne)

Other nominees: Bill Willingham (Fables, Jack of Fables) • Brian Michael Bendis (Ultimate Comics Spider-Man, Avengers) • J. Michael Straczynski (Superman: Earth One, Brave & The Bold) • Jonathan Hickman (Fantastic Four, Secret Warriors)

Best Writer – Independent: Robert Kirkman (The Walking Dead, Invincible)

Other nominees: Dan Clowes (Wilson) • Jeff Smith (Rasl) • Mark Waid (Irredeemable, Incorruptible) • Nick Spencer (Morning Glories, Shuddertown)

Best Artist – Mainstream: Olivier Coipel (Siege)

Other nominees: Doug Mahnke (Green Lantern) • Frazer Irving (Batman and Robin, Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne) • Jim Cheung (Avengers: The Children’s Crusade) • Steve Epting (Fantastic Four, The Marvel’s Project)

Best Artist – Independent: Charles Burns (X’ed Out)

Other nominees: Darick Robertson (The Boys) • Darwyn Cooke (The Outfit) • Jen Wang (Koko Be Good) • Nathan Fox (Fluorescent Black)

Best Ongoing Series: Batman and Robin (DC)

Other nominees: Scalped (DC/Vertigo) • The Unwritten (DC/Vertigo) • The Walking Dead (Image) • Ultimate Comics Spider-Man (Marvel)

Best Limited Series: Blackest Night (DC)

Other nominees: Daytripper (DC/Vertigo) • Hellboy: The Storm (Dark Horse) • Siege (Marvel) • Spider-Man: Fever (Marvel)

Best Debut Book: The Sixth Gun (Oni Press)

Other nominees: American Vampire (DC/Vertigo) • Morning Glories (Image) • Skullkickers (Image) • The Traveler (BOOM! Studios)

Best Graphic Novel: Return of the Dapper Men (Archaia)

Other nominees: 45 (Com.X) • Moving Pictures (Top Shelf) • Wilson (Drawn + Quarterly) • X’ed Out (Pantheon)

Best Publisher: Image Comics

Other nominees: BOOM! Studios • Dark Horse • DC Comics • Marvel Comics

Related content

Related Headlines

Related Lowdowns


There are no comments yet.

In order to post a comment you have to be logged in. Don't have a profile yet? Register now!

Latest headlines


Latest comments
Comics Discussion
Broken Frontier on Facebook