BF Unveils Winners of Broken Frontier Awards 2012

Lowdown - Article

Share this lowdown

  • Button Delicious
  • Bttn Digg
  • Bttn Facebook
  • Bttn Ff
  • Bttn Myspace
  • Bttn Stumble
  • Bttn Twitter
  • Bttn Reddit

Broken Frontier proudly unveils the winners of its 9th annual Broken Frontier Awards.

During the last weeks of 2012, the BF staff went through piles of comics and graphic novels and carefully selected five nominees for each of its nine award categories, then took the ballot live for the comics community to vote on. Today, the popular comics news site unveils which creators and publications get a BF Award!

This year’s ballot saw a healthy mix of mainstream and indie nominations as befits a site which prides itself on its diversity of coverage. It was a particularly strong year for British publishers with Jonathan Cape, Nobrow Press and Blank Slate Books all gaining multiple nominations on the ballots, and new Brit talent dominating the breakout Best Debut Award.

Winners were decided by votes from fans, creators and industry professionals, as well as the BF staff. Total votes from the comics community and the site staff each accounted for 50% of the final tally.

Here is a complete overview of the winners in each of the categories.

Best Writer – Mainstream

Winner: Jonathan Hickman (Fantastic Four, FF)

Other nominees: Brian Michael Bendis, Geoff Johns, Jeff Lemire, Scott Snyder

Best Writer – Independent

Winner: Luke Pearson (Hilda and the Bird Parade)

Other nominees: Brian K. Vaughan, Ed Brubaker, Joe Keatinge, Robert Kirkman

Best Artist – Mainstream

Winner: Greg Capullo (Batman)

Other nominees: Chris Bachalo, Chris Samnee, Gary Frank, Ivan Reis

Best Artist – Independent

Winner: Sean Phillips (Fatale)

Other nominees: Kristian Donaldson, Matt Kindt, Luke Pearson, Tonci Zonjic

Best Ongoing Series

Winner: Batman (DC Comics)

Other nominees: Avengers Academy, Fatale, Scalped, The Walking Dead

Best Limited Series

Winner: Happy! (Image Comics)

Other nominees: American Vampire: Lord of Nightmares (DC/Vertigo Comics), Secret Service (Marvel Comics), Spaceman (DC/Vertigo Comics), Witch Doctor: Mal Practice (Image Comics)

Best Debut Book

Winner: The Tale of Brin & Bent and Minno Marylebone by Ravi Thornton and Andy Hixon (Jonathan Cape)

Other nominees: Days of the Bagnold Summer by Joff Winterhart (Jonathan Cape), Peepholes by Laurie J Proud (Blank Slate Books), The Adventures of Leeroy and Popo by Louis Roskosch (Nobrow Press), The Silver Darlings by Will Morris (Blank Slate Books)

Best Graphic Novel

Winner: The Nao of Brown (SelfMadeHero)

Other nominees: Blacksad: Silent Hell (Dark Horse), Cow Boy (Archaia), Dotter of her Father’s Eyes (Jonathan Cape), The House that Groaned (Square Peg)

Best Publisher

Winner: Image Comics

Other nominees: Blank Slate Books, Dark Horse, Image Comics, Nobrow Press, Rebellion

Related content

Related Headlines

Related Lowdowns

Related Reviews

Related Columns


There are no comments yet.

In order to post a comment you have to be logged in. Don't have a profile yet? Register now!

Latest headlines


Latest comments
Comics Discussion
Broken Frontier on Facebook